Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:30 p.m. - 2001-08-18
personality
Oh, for the chance to meet friendly strangers every day.

I realized something consciously that I've known for awhile. The word 'poser' is a joke. There is no such thing. It's an oxymoron and it contradicts itself. I was listening to people argue over someone who wore skater clothes but couldn't skate, and how he was 'such a poser', and people saying, 'you're not punk if you don't know who AFI is,' and some other people worrying whether they were a poser if they wore Gap clothing to a moshpit. Why do we care? The only reason clothes are a big deal is that they're supposed to represent something. It's moved from cloth warming your skin to a statement of who you are. And if what the clothes reflect you are opposes the image you put out otherwise, you're suddenly classified as a poser.

I. DON'T. CARE. I. Just. Don't.

What I see when I look at people is whether they smile back at me if I smile at them. If they reach out to help someone up when they fall down. The way they decline or agree to give panhandlers money. How they deal with pushy salespeople. What they do if they fall down. Their ability to laugh at themselves. Their ability to laugh at others. Their ability to laugh, period. Whether they will lend bus fare to the kid who needs to get home. Their ability to stand by their own viewpoints. I was talking to a girl who instantly agreed with everything I said, whatever I said. Finally I explained my 'view' that Hitler was a great man and should have succeeded in killing all the Jews and then we would have been better off. And then I walked away.

I'm half Jewish, and she didn't get it even then. It scared her more when Chelsea caught on to the game and said she liked to eat babies.

Why do we live in a society where people's clothes versus personality means more to people than people actually HAVING a personality of their own?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!