Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:23 - November 04, 2002
extremes
The difference between being splayed out in a room with five guys and the Windows Media psychedelic screen going nuts is the presence or absence of a drug haze. Having studied it carefully, I declare the presence of it to be better. I've always talked about wishing I could turn my mind off. Nothing so drastic as dying and nothing so everyday as sleeping, but just to not have to run things over and over in my mind, just for ten seconds, or ten minutes, or ten episodes of some half-hour cartoon, as the case may be.

On the other hand, being able to have a completely comfortable and exhilarating conversation while sober is a much bigger accomplishment, I think. I've done that, the crystal-clear knife-sharp mind philosophy conversations late at night, and the drughaze cartoon watching, smoke from five different sources swirling; my cloves, Andrew's weed, Richard's pipe tobacco, passed around a few times. Jeremy's rum does not create smoke but it's still a presence.

I really like these extremes occurring so close together in time.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!