Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:43 a.m. - 2001-05-06
concert
If you haven't already, read about this in Alisa's diary, because she gives a good background. http://meshugena.diaryland.com/010506_77.html. It was the Anti-Flag concert, and by the time they came on I was completely exhausted, but I did enjoy it. I kept thinking while they were talking how if I didn't know better, it seemed like a cult. The whole family thing, 'no one fucks with our family', the 'be informed so the rest of the world can't fuck you over' thing. This amused me. I pretended I was in a follower group where, after the concert, we would all get in our cars and follow Anti-Flag and live on some sort of wacky punk-rock commune for the rest of our lives.

We couldn't find Camille, and I was worried she'd been stepped on. She wasn't, though; she was just sitting on top of the balcony watching the pit and getting a kick out of the view. Silly Camille.

I've always liked the idea of anarchy, although I never really investigated it, and I've also never really thought about the evils of America. I mean, I wonder about it sometimes since we elected Bush, but after hearing Anti-Flag I'm going to go look up some shit. Oppression doesn't need to be looked up; I know people are being oppressed and I know they're being silenced and I know that we do our best to try and cover it up and we never quite succeed. However, I also know there's some good people and if you talk to enough of them, you start to realize there's enough hope out here to go on living, even in this corrupt society. There are loopholes, and we find them. We shouldn't have to, but we always will. If you don't pay attention to it, you don't really feel it, but if you don't feel it, you don't do anything about it, and if you don't do anything about it, nothing will change. So even though it's easy to ignore it and it hurts to feel it, I guess it's better to know about it. Stagnancy can be pretty evil of its own accord, although some people will pass it off as lazy. I know I do.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!