Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:19 - April 18, 2002
timothy part 4
While talking to Timothy again today, I had the recurring idea that he has this way of making me forget completely what I was thinking about, if I was thinking about anything, which usually I'm not, when listening to him. So I said, 'Timothy, you're like marijuana, without the paranoia.' He looked up from rosining his bow, slightly, smiled. 'I mean you make me forget what I was going to say," I said. He raised an eyebrow. 'I mean your thoughts connect to each other in ways only you can understand, so I don't know how we make the topicswitch to different topics,' I said. I babbled because I thought he was mad. You can't tell anything at all from his face, which always wears this tiny little faraway dreamy grin. Suddenly he puts his bow down.

'You know, once I smoked some weed and then took a shower,' he said. My eyes popped wide open. Timothy? Smoking? 'I was like, the water is needles, the needles are painful. And then I thought I was going to throw up. But when I opened the toilet, I didn't throw up. I was paranoid. I liked it, but I didn't like the paranoia.'

'It makes my heart feel weird,' I said, tentatively, wondering if it was going to be a lecture.

'To you, too?' he asked, his eyebrows going up. 'Nobody I knew ever complained about that.' I was laughing, I was convulsing; Timothy, high, the very idea.

At some point before that he told me this wild story about picking up a hitchhiker and driving him to Joliet and having his life threatened and taking him to get baptized and getting kicked out of two churches and a truck stop for having this dirty hitchhiker with them, and eventually bringing him home and his family giving him their blessings, and this woman the very same day who got into his car, and they all had pneumonia, or something. I don't remember, except that it all had to do with Jesus sending him on missions. I was enraptured. He's a great storyteller, and completely insane. Two hours back there among the dust and rosin listening to Timothy and watching him jump around on the dirty rug, doing voice impersonations and dancing and flailing his arms about. I kept thinking about him being a grandfather someday, and sitting his grandchildren on his bouncing knee, and telling them stories about the 'olden days' with a twinkle in his eye. I told him and he agreed.

Usually I leave his office somber, deep in thought. Today I left it laughing, singing the Chili Peppers down the hallway. There could be a friendship here.

---

'Joan of Arc reincarnated Maybe we could be related So much blood to circulate And so much space to decorate.'
-Red Hot Chili Peppers, 'Right On Time'

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!