Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:30 p.m. - March 06, 2002
thoughtjump
So all I'm going to say is I talked to Erik, because I'm supposed to be keeping my mouth shut, and for once it wasn't ABOUT Erik, it was about someone else. Many someone else's, actually. Which was nice, not to be analyzing our own whatever wherever for a long time and me ending up crying and throwing the receiver on the floor, which I actually don't think I've ever done, but I have in person. Not thrown the phone receiver, but done the in-person equivalent; i.e. stomping angrily from the house. Anyway. I didn't do it. I didn't feel the need to. For once one of our arguments/discussions/sighing wars ended on a nice happy note.

I remember our happy face wars, too, and how Ms. Felton thought we would really go someplace artistic with them. That's a lot to expect from two eighth graders with pent-up frustration, a morning art class, and each with the will to draw more happy faces (me) or more sad faces (Erik) than the other on a single sheet of paper. It would get quite jumbled. I think she hung one such paper on the wall.

So. EMU club. I like it. There's only four people there, so we get a computer and lots of personal space to ourselves, each of us. The first meeting we kind of all just went off into separate corners and wrote with our headphones on and didn't say anything, but I hope that in a bit we'll start playing them aloud and bouncing ideas off each other, maybe even co-writing songs. I've never tried that before...

I was talking to Mike awhile ago and it turns out we come at writing from completely opposite directions. I was classically trained so when I look at music, I see notes on a page and time sigs and key sigs and sharps and flats and a piano keyboard. Mike comes at it from a technological viewpoint. I don�t. I don�t understand computers. I don�t understand their hookups or their language or any of their dials or knobs or any of that on my synthesizer. I set it to what seems nicest, and start playing music. Anyway, my point is that if people like us worked together, the result could be amazing. Or we�d kill each other. Whichever came first. Either way I want to try it.

Speaking of Mike, I was a bit worried for awhile that he thought I was the reason Camille wouldn�t date him. Because I liked him, she wouldn�t �infringe� or whatever. I wish I could somehow get the word into his head by osmosis or something that I told her to go for it. I don�t know. Sometimes I wish she�d just given him a try, let him take her out. I get the feeling he resents that I was there that night. Which is a little hard to think about someone who you really thought you might like....

But I said I was done with that topic.



Find Out Who You Are?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!