Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 - June 11, 2002
summer swing
It took me about three seconds to get into the summer groove. Actually, literally twelve hours. Of sleep. That would never, ever happen during the school year. Not because I worked on schoolwork until the wee hours of the night or anything, but because it's natural for me to go to bed at 12 but very very unnatural to wake up at 7. Damn clock has to keep ticking in the morning like it rules the world. ::snort::

There are many job options hanging over my head on very thin pieces of string. The job I've had for four years is laying off, and I haven't been, but I probably will be before July. My mother is talking to the Gardens about getting me a job as a typist, since I've got whizfingers. And then I could waitress at a Christian bar and grill, right? The option D: 'sitting on one's ass and being lazy' is starting to sound pretty appealing, like a bar of chocolate ice cream on a stick from the Good Humor man, who constantly rolls down my street because there's an elementary school a half block away and lots of gay couples with small children around; my street is the new North Halsted of Evanston. I like it. They always have cats, and children between the ages of 1 and 4. It never fails. There's an orange tabby who enjoys sitting on our stoop and catching the dragonflies that circle around our mint flowers. When I go near it, it growls, then scampers off. The other day, it left us a present on the second stair: a dead rabbit with only three legs. Presumably, the cat ate the fourth. My dad didn't want to touch it, so he turned on the hose full blast and washed it out into the gutter, where the five year old across the street came to investigate. Amazing Waterfall Rabbit! Don't put your fingers in your mouth, Brittany! Don't touch it or you'll have a Time Out!

I learn so much from putting my head out the window in the middle of the afternoon.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!