Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

16:45 - September 01, 2002
rivals for twenty minutes per day
Anybody who is too dorky for my roommates is apparently a perfect match for me. (My computer has been broken for a half an hour.. horrors! I had to shake it upside down and press all the buttons at once with a book to make it start again. Now it is as good as new!) Matt and Lance and Kate and Nick stopped by to ask Stephanie to walk over to the hill with them, but she begged out on account of she had homework (chortle! she has homework, my ass. and if she did she wouldn't do it. she whispered to me later that they 'weren't very fun'.) so I went instead, since Lance asked and all the laundry machines were taken. We wandered on over to the hill and wandered around the fraternity house neighbourhood, where drunk kids were hurtling out of houses and climbing on cars, and trying to conceal the fact that they were having sex outside. Nothing to see here.

Next stop; Pearl Street. By then I had learned a couple of surprising things: A) Lance doesn't drink or smoke; B) Matt only drinks a little and rarely smokes. (Aha! The secret of why they're 'not very fun' comes out at last! They don't have alcohol spilling out of every available orifice.) Lance came off at first a bit like a creepy old uncle or a frat guy trying to pick up chicks, but it turned out he really was that earnest and friendly. Matt was even more cynical than me, if that's possible, and at first I thought he hated me and everyone else in the entire world. But after a few bites at the Cheesecake Factory and an excited talk about Less Than Jake playing live, I found that he was trying to be strange, and it had been working.

We ended up on the steps of Baker Hall talking about religion and spirituality and late night 2 AM topics as such. (Matt whispered in my ear that Lance was only like this because he was smoking a cigar, and he never ever wanted to see him on weed.) On the bus on the way home, there was a bunch of drunk kids singing 'The Wheels On The Bus Go Round and Round', and puking out the window. The only thing I could think was, 'HERE is the 'real' college experience.'

Thoughts that came up, other than that one; Mike was right about the college mentality of just walking into someone's room and going, 'hey, what's going on? wanna do something?' not being a big deal, and something that is done all the time, and something that I'm really appreciating. It's such a huge deal at home to have to CALL someone, and then DRIVE over there, and DECIDE what to do, and it's a big production and sometimes not worth it. Here, you knock on the door, fall on the creaky chair, and go, 'Let's go wander around.' And it's perfectly natural.

Thought B: Lance and Matt are perfect roommates. There was an easiness between them that I hardly ever ever see between two guys. Sharing their cigars, buying each other cheesecake, making plans to ski, making plans to visit each other over breaks, talking about hometown A vs. hometown B, and managing not to hate each other despite the huge hockey rivalry ('we hate each other twenty minutes a day', said Matt, laughing, 'and that's all').

Thought C: Boys are generally easier to get along with here. Them and gay women. Although I suppose that's true everywhere.

Thought D: Lance's views on spirituality and morals were fucking genius, and I'm very very pissed off that I don't remember them.

I need to go over there and make Matt lend me his Less Than Jake CD's.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!