Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:41 p.m. - September 09, 2001
que
My Spanish exchange student has arrived.

Issues: she has been here for two days and has not spoken more than two words to me. No matter what language I use with her, she has this look that she fixes me with, like, "I don't care." Arguably, my Spanish may be bad enough that she can't understand me. However, I'm making an effort to use Spanish, and the three English words she's used with me are, "Yes. Where phone?", so she can call home. I understand that she's homesick. I understand that. When I go to Spain in February, I'll be a wreck. I'd want to talk about it, though. The whole point of an exchange is to learn the language of the country you're staying in. I'm not even supposed to be speaking Spanish to her. But I am. Everybody says she won't be like this for the full three weeks, but everyone else's student is at least talking to them. When she's at home, she's in her room, door closed, asleep or reading. I don't whether to feel sorry for her or yell at her to get with it or she'll regret the entire trip. It's not fun if you don't make any effort.

Rain does not soak through the cloth top of my car, but when it pours while you're inside it, you can feel the raindrops against your hand. Camille doesn't like Mr. Bungle, so she should die. I don't want to compete with a friend over a certain guy we both like, but it looks inevitable. And no, I should not be set up with ______ just because he's taller than me, although it is a plus. There's what's on my mind, but the more important writing is for my creative writing class. I must get to that.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!