Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

16:14 - August 16, 2002
not dead yet
When a sturdy Volvo stationwagon rocks over onto two wheels, you know your fucking life is in jeopardy. And when a Ford Explorer attempts to change lanes at the same time as you, but from the other direction, causing what could very well have been a head-on collision, without so much as a signal or a glance out the window, you know that although you've met some pretty stupid people, there are more out there who are more dangerous. If I were driving, I would have slammed into the expressway wall. We almost did anyway, but she knows her turning radius. At 75 miles per hour, cars don't like to turn that abruptly, and when they are, they get very irate and rock, rock, swerve, tilt, growl, over and over and over until she's bent over the wheel, wrestling it with all her 100 pound might to keep it from veering directions unknown, or upside down.

Surprisingly, no one shrieked. Camille and I shouted 'watch out!' to each other at the same instant, and then all I remember is clutching something completely stupid and useless, like the power window controls, and gaping over to my left and wondering if I should add my weight to steady the wheel. When it was over, there were various exclamations not to be reproduced here (mostly because I don't remember them), and Mike going, 'uhh?' He wasn't scared. That freaked me out more than any other apathy trick he's ever pulled.

I leave for college day after tomorrooooo-oooo-owww. (Mocking, whining, laughing, or sobbing effects may be added in at the reader's discretion. As it is, any would apply.)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!