Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

13:54 - December 19, 2002
three dorm beds
Nothing is as weird as this.
I'd forgotten that they weren't just kidding when they christened Chicago the Windy City. I stepped out of the airport and nearly got blown down the road, suitcase and backpack included. It was pouring rain and lightning was streaking everywhere. I haven't seen rain since September, literally... in Boulder it apparently doesn't bother doing that.. why rain when it can be sunny? And snow? And be sunny and snow at the same time?

Anyway, I slept through my bus to the airport, had to take a cab; the cabbie was insane and kept drifting over the lane markers, yet got me there so quickly that even though I slept three hours longer than I was supposed to, I caught the flight and hour and a half before mine with about fifteen minutes to spare. The storm in Chicago almost killed us coming down. The plane rocked and swayed and bounced and banked and I would have been much more scared for my life if I hadn't been sitting next to a pilot, who was nonchalant the entire time. I figure the pilot would know when to panic. However, this logic escaped the girl on my other side, who had taken a few Valium to assuage her fears about flying but apparently they didn't work, because she whined for two straight hours about how we were all going to die a fiery death dashed on the plains of.. I don't know.. Kansas, or wherever we were at the particular time she was whining.

I went to visit my old high school because I know that I wouldn't see most of these people if I didn't, and some security guard attempted to write me up for being in the hallways without a pass. I did what I'd always hoped to someday do; ran away down the hallway yelping, 'I'm scared! I'm scared!' and doing the Wizard of Oz skip. The security guard was, of course, the Egyptian Prince. Just as I had hoped.

I'm trying to figure out whether I like it here or not. Comparatively, I mean. Last night when I got home I just sat around for awhile and looked at things, and when that got old, I realized that, no matter, how much I idealized home, it could still be dead as hell. Not many people are home yet, though, so that's not really fair. I keep finding myself wanting to go over to Andrew's.

My bed is like three dorm beds. I didn't wake up once last night.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!