Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

20:53 - April 23, 2002
massage part 2
I don't think I'm the right sort of person to be getting a massage, because my mind wanders and I never quite relax. I had this whole monologue going on inside my head as the silent tall bald man with the foreign accent gave me an hour-long massage: my Christmas present at the health spa, cashed in very very late. The whole practice is strange to think about; with people everywhere getting offended if a stranger looks at them the wrong way, and meanwhile they're on their way to the spa to be rubbed all over by a stranger, and the only difference, really, is scented oil and the protection of the sexual harassment laws. Well, that's a big one. But still. The massage therapist I had today, and all three before that, paid more attention to my body than any of my previous boyfriends, probably combined, and it wasn't sexual because it wasn't expected to be, and therefore wasn't. I wonder how much of our human anguish comes from the restrictions and labels that we put on sex? I pay money for a man to massage me and make my body feel good. Men pay money for women to come have sex with them to make their body feel good. Hell, women pay men to have sex with them and make their body feel good. Everything has to do with trade; money for pleasure, money for money, pleasure for money, promises for money, money for promises. There wouldn't be a difference if we didn't put one there. Of course there's corruption in the world of prostitution. Of course there is. And why? Because it's technically 'illegal', so there's no repercussions or laws pertaining to malpractice and mistreatment. What else would one expect? I'm not sure, but I think that a lot of criminals are being scapegoated. You can't blame the government, since it's illegal, but should something go wrong when it WAS legal, the government would be at fault, so they can't make it legal for fear of tarnishing their own already.. ahem.. crystal clear reputation. I'm not talking murder and rape here, but things that everybody knows everybody else does and it bothers nobody but the police, since it's their jobs to have it bother them, and they they can 'confiscate' the weed. Hah.

And then I paid the masseuse, put my clothes on, and left. Are you going to call him a whore?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!