Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

16:29 - December 29, 2002
the liquor entry
Sheesh. Just went liquor shopping for the New Years party. Didn't realize liquor was so expensive... I am so glad I'm not an alcoholic. However, now our kitchen is lined with all sorts of different mindbenders, most of which I wouldn't touch with a ten foot pole but hopefully everyone else should. Touch them and drink them, for leaving them in my house alone with my father after I return to school is a very very bad idea.
The party should go well, though, despite my dad suddenly having second thoughts and giving me all sorts of stipulations that I knew about anyway but somehow cements his authority to him. 'If anyone gets rowdy and starts breaking things, they're out.' I know, Dad. 'If anyone is puking their guts up, they're out.' Yes, Dad. 'If anyone thinks they're coming in here wearing a lot of perfume, they're out.' Okay, Dad. It's funny how obvious it was in the liquor store that he was buying liquor for minors, and how little anyone cared. He had a list that my friends had made for him, but didn't know what any of it was, so had to ask the clerks. 'What's Malibu? What's Mike's Hard Lemonade?' At checkout, he made some crack about never having bought such assorted crap before. Everyone know it wasn't for him. I love legality and how full of shit it really is.

So I hope no one gets totally trashed and passes out with vomit dripping down their face or anything. This is an experience we should reserve exclusively for college, if at all, but definitely not in the proximity of parents. I also hope Cam's parents don't stop by like they did at the last party. I also hope Rachel and Mike don't kill each other. And nobody gets a parking ticket, and the key collecting bucket goes well. I hope I stop feeling like a prim housewife when it comes to partying. I still even feel a little guilty about not drinking that white wine when they went to the trouble to get it for me. I hope the whole thing is guilt-free. I hope I will stop hoping.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!