Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

13:05 - August 26, 2002
like, totally
The official reason for my being here has begun, and is actually worth talking about (half, only, really, how many times can I put a comma between one word thoughts, but anyway) I think my musical style teacher might be a bit round the bend, but in that good way, the way you'll always remember when you grow up and do whatever you do: 'ohhh, the one who made us do that cave thing!' He was hopping around the room like a little grey-haired grasshopper talking about how not only did the ancient peoples draw on caves, but they sang and danced around the artwork! When asked how he knew, he paused for a split second and then hopped over to the lightswitch. 'Acoustics,' he said threateningly, and flipped the switch. It was pitch black. 'Pretend you have a golf ball in your mouth and ahh low,' he ordered. 'Don't be shy; nobody's looking.' We all ahhhed (the chorus people oohed; their training caused them not to be able to help it) for what seemed like full minutes, until, with jarring clarity, I noticed that we'd all tuned ourselves. A perfect A flat fifth chord. I felt like a member of an ancient chanting tribe; the tonal spacing was perfect, more perfect than I've heard any violin or cello tuned, and they're made in fifths.

Bassoon boy Ben was in that class (a boy I met in line the first day I was here who has been showing up at least eight times a day all over campus), and as soon as I saw him I exclaimed, 'you're EVERYWHERE! Are you twins?'

In front of the job center and the bus stop there was a blond girl with a huge, probably ten foot tall sign that said in huge letters 'Seek Jesus! Not a job!' She was yelling at the top of her lungs about how He died for us, over and over and over again. 'Shiiiit,' said a girl next to me. 'If she be starting on me next....'

I have one more class today. Criminology. And then I'm going to the local GLBT meeting. My roommates can't believe it. 'Isn't that for gay people?' one shrieked.

Will, who was there at the time, said, 'like, totally.' She then stormed off to look for her sorority rush form.

Once the door had closed, I looked at the place where she had been. 'Aren't sororities for stupid people?' I whispered.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!