Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:33 - September 11, 2002
stairs to infinity
The only things I know how to play on guitar are the C, G, D, E, and E minor chords... and the Beatles' 'Daytripper'.

I went over to the climbing wall today for the first time and learned that I can almost touch the top of it by jumping, so it's not much for upward climbing... but the bouldering is intense. I belayed some guy named.. Rhett? I think? He was hanging upside down like no tomorrow, and the one time he fell, I was catapulted into the air at BEEP! BEEP! BORING ALERT!!!
Sorry. I just want to avoid talking about the anniversary of everyoneknowswhat, since it's been over-discussed and over-commercialized and has anyone thought of looking into the future and preventing MORE violence instead of hovering around this one act forever? For example, stopping dear Georgie from going into Iraq, unprovoked, with no support from any other nation in the world except possibly the U.K.? I'm not into politics at all, I hide from them, but guys, this does not bode well. Even I know that.

There was a book or a movie or an idea from somewhere about climbing a flight of stairs to somewhere.. maybe heaven?...maybe the end of time, or infinity... and after hours and hours and hours he looks down and sees he's hardly moved at all, and the stretch ahead of him is still just as long as it was when it began. It might be 'The Phantom Tollbooth', it sounds like it, but I could be wrong. Either way, that's what I felt like climbing the stairs to my fifth floor dorm after returning from two hours of bouldering on the wall, and I thought I'd share.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!