Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:29 p.m. - November 04, 2001
incubus concert!
Ahhh... Incubus.

It wasn't that I didn't want Erik to come, but I couldn't believe Camille's parents would tell her she could go, let her buy the $75 tickets, and then change their minds . Camille, this entry is for you. Play-by-play, you deserve it. Fuck everyone else if they think it's boring. All you. :)

We got to the Riviera at 5:30, parked right outside - really - not sure how - and had dinner at the Golden House Restaurant. By the time we actually got into the concert hall, it was a quarter to seven and still - amazingly - pretty empty. I saw Mike on the way in, waiting for his tickets, which hadn't shown up yet. Erik and I ended up standing on the third rise in the first row, up against the bar. We had an incredible view... not to far away, not too high up, but high enough up to see over everyone else's heads. Then we proceeded to wait an HOUR until the opening band, the Start, played... they were all right; though their bassist was loud, annoying, and out of tune; I liked the singer's voice, and she was a woman.. you know how often I like women's voices...

So Incubus didn't get on until about 9, by then Erik and I had sat our asses down on the floor next to the bar, having given up all hope of Incubus ever coming onstage, which of course is when they did. They started off with.. Privilege, I think, at which point they all still had all of their clothes on. The crowd down front was nuts, they were putting up eight people to crowd surf at a time.. but security at the Riviera is way harder than security at the Metro ('weed? eh.. whatever... moshing..pshaw..') and they actually threw people out for crowdsurfing. We were far enough back that it didn't affect us. We just leaned on the bar and relaxed.. I was definitely enjoying the view, especially when Brandon commenced stripping off both of the shirts he was wearing. I'm trying to recall everything they sang.. I know I won't be able to do it in order.. they did Privilege, Nowhere Fast, The Warmth, When It Comes, Make Yourself, Clean, Pardon Me, Drive, Stellar, Wish You Were Here, Circles, Mexico, Warning, New Skin, Glass, Certain Shade of Green, Favorite Things, Summer Romance (Antigravity Love Song) and Nebula.. that's all I can remember. A few of them were acoustic.. Michael broke his E string. They kind of screwed up Summer Romance.. they didn't bring in a saxophone or at least have a recording of it.. the melody was on two strings, in fourths I think.. it didn't sound nearly as good but I was glad they played it. I was disappointed they didn't do any earlier stuff... I was really holding out for Azwethinkweiz.

Anyway, it ended probably about 11, we rushed out of there before we got smashed by the drunk guys who'd been slam-dancing the whole time right under our feet. Erik laughed at me for playing the bass parts along with the bassist and the drum parts along with the drummer. I didn't see Mike on the way out, but I know he got in.. he was on the balcony right about us. I saw Becca and Jeremy, too.

I made Erik listen to Mr. Bungle part of the way home, semi-against his will, but he said it was better than he expected. I couldn't get him to say he liked it though.. ah well. We got ice cream, and then I took him home.

Not sure the concert was worth $75 from a scalper, but it was definitely an amazing show.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!