Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:10 - September 14, 2002
hiking the 1st flatiron
wowie, is this old school or what? ::wink:: Let's see if the paragraph command works.

I climbed the 1st Flatiron today with Camille. Last time I tried that, I turned around less than a half-mile up the trail. Must be good vibes that power me, rather than oxygen, because we made it to the top, or as close to the top you can get (about 30 feet away from the point) without using rope and climbing shoes and not killing yourself in the process. I must say, however, that the risks we did take, (though we didn't climb all the way up) were pretty stupid in of themselves, but I don't remember ever having cared about that, now being no exception. Though there was one point, crouched almost vertically with my boot wedged into a crack and hands clutching the jagged edges of the cliff, that I considered the real possibility that my already slippery hiking boots would slip at the toe and that would be the end of it all. Instead of munching on that thought for any length of time, though, I scrambled up a few inches, reached into my pocket, took out my camera, and snapped a picture.

My legs are now dead. But I've never felt better. We're going to make it a weekend thing, I think. The trail's only about a mile from my dorm, albeit uphill.. sometimes I hate to waste energy on walking up fucking Baseline Road rather than saving that energy for scrambling up dangerous cliff faces. But I digress...kind of...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!