Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:38 p.m. - February 07, 2002
hello, community college...
After wandering around all relieved that I got into Western Washington University and wasn't going to go to community college, I got a letter in the mail today that said I couldn't be admitted as a composition major. Their music person had listened to the tapes, it said, and it 'wasn't possible' for me to be admitted as a composition major, but once enrolled at the university, I could 'take composition classes in order to improve my technique'.
I hate to sound like a five year old, but. I Don't Wanna.
I don't want to major in music if I can't major in composition, or at least theory. I hate performance. It leaves no room for my type of creativity,and I don't want to have to slog my way through a major in performance, playing in stupid quartets and ensembles and having concerts, all the while just wanting to create stuff, but not being able to, because..um, they didn't specify. Just that I couldn't be admitted.
You know, that was the easiest school I applied to. If they don't like my tape, I have no chance in hell anywhere else, especially Berklee or Oberlin, and as for Boulder, I couldn't even complete their piano performance requirements required to even be accepted into the music program at all. Reed didn't really have any music requirements, but I sent them a tape anyway. What if it all really blew and I just didn't have the objectivity to notice?
Suddenly majoring in philosophy, my original plan, isn't sounding so bad anymore...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!