Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

13:47 - June 19, 2002
a freshie again
In about seven hours I'll be leaving for Boulder to get all the icky stuff out of the way; registration, orientation, class sign-up... the whole bit. Then it'll be camping with the other freshies in Estes Park or thereabouts for a couple of days. (I've seen Estes Park before, and fuck if I know where we're going to camp in that commercialized 'quaint mountain town' (as it says in the brochures). I don't remember seeing a single tree or an untamed plot of land. I think we're going to have to get a little further up the mountain for that. (Altitude sickness...yipee!... although I think my own body's reaction to altitude is a little backwards. I was nauseous in Denver, 5280 feet, but not at the top of Pike's Peak, about 14,000.) By then I was too busy seeing how close to the edge I could get without plunging to my imminent doom.... my dad didn't like that game very much. Now come to think of it, though, he didn't care enough to refrain from taking a picture of me with one foot dangling in the abyss. 'At least if you die from your own stupidity,' he said, 'I'll have documentation.'

'At least if you document it,' I said back, 'they'll know who would rather take a picture than save someone's life.'

So this is where I'm headed. If I can't update from the 'outskirts of nature' (in Estes Park??!!), meaning I probably can, I'll see you all on Monday the whatever it is of June.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!