Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:50 p.m. - November 18, 2001
electronic translation, of course
I fed my Spanish paper (about supposed traditions in my family, written originally in Spanish) into a Spanish English translator. The results are pretty funny:

My family had more annual traditions before my parents were becoming divorc�s; now every tradition becomes with a father, and only a father. Since the annual trip to Houston every Thanksgiving now it becomes with my mother, and the trip that we take to The Angels now has been replaced by my father who takes me to New York. It is a bit difficult to think about a tradition that it was not stopped last summer.
When I was more young, the month of Christmas, my parents and I had a rule that we might make a gift low of the tree before the Day of Christmas, but only A gift. For only to give a slight taste from which it had to come, I suppose. My mother was in the habit of putting the gift bigger that possible that she had under the tree approximately three weeks before Christmas, only to make to me mad. One year, rasgu� opened the gift of my mother two weeks before the Christmas. My father never wrapped anything up himself up to the last possible minute, and sometimes he still did not buy gifts until a few days before.
We would buy the insanely early tree in the month; then, to the Christmas we would have this smelly tree that fades up in the center of our room, with three gifts down; one, I shelter meticulously, spilling the tape throughout the floor of my mother, I one shelter in the normal paper, without the card (mine, because I always forgot to label it), and occasionally a purse of paper with something thrown in it (of my father). We also would have decorated it insanely early in the month, then the tinsel would fall down and my cat it would eat; later vomiting the tinsel on the floor of dining room since us we were having dinner. He would think that after a few years, we would stop putting the tinsel on the tree, but we never did, and the cat continued vomiting it. By the way, this cat vivio to have 21 years. I suppose that eating the tinsel it is not badly for his health.
I would never be capable of sleeping the night before the Day of Christmas. This wanted say I ' I would wake up ' at 3:30 in the morning and it would enter the bedroom of my parents, shouting ' This is the Christmas! This is the Christmas! ', until my father would begin to lecture myself on since this it was not the Christmas, in fact, the Christmas technically did not begin even at least 9:00 in the morning. And this was this. Then, to exactly them 9:00 in the morning, I would jump in the quarter of my parents afresh, shouting ' This is the Christmas! This is the Christmas! ', only to realize that they were not in the bed. They were in the kitchen, drinking the coffee and laughing to me. In general ii was taking approximately an hour of taking his coffee to him of them and to drag them in the room, where I was designated ' the Carrier of Gifts. ' This wanted say I would go to the tree (that, miraculously, overnight, � it had spawned the massive quantities of gifts!) And they bring to every person his gift, one for one.
We are not a religious, at the time family do not pray, we did not do any reference to Jesus. In fact, my mother is Jewish, and when my father was young they forced him(her) to represent the Catholic School, and consequently, he hated the religion for the rest of his life. Then, quite that we made age open gifts and change thank you politely. I was one lying very badly, so if I did not like a gift, my parents knew it immediately.
This is the only tradition the one that I can remember, and this is not still really a tradition; only joust a little what spent the class of the same way every year. Recollection being consoled every year that the Christmas would spend exactly the way for the one that I hoped that it was happening. I suppose what he wants to say that it likes to me. But this is not really a tradition that I might spend to my own children (even if I was planning them to have, that I am not.) the Christmas in my adult life only will spend the way the one that this spends. I am not a big admirer of unbreakable traditions.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!