Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

17:37 - June 14, 2002
dead camel
Last night I had a dream that Erik, Mike, Nora and I drove to France. I was behind the wheel of the old Toyota that I think was a replica of the car I had until I turned seven, and I was driving along the expressway, which was on the edge of a very large, steep cliff... it actually looked a lot like the Pacfic Coast Highway... when the signs started saying things like 'French Pass.' 'South of France Bridge', and despite the fact that of course there would never be signs like that, and they wouldn't be in English, and you can't drive over the ocean from the USA to France, I was delighted, and clapped my hands and shrieked and forgot to concentrate on driving. (That was all one sentence.) I turned around in my seat and was starting to yammer to people, 'I've never been to Europe! I've never been to France! Or anything!' when I noticed we were going around a sharp turn and my hands were nowhere near the wheel; as they were flapping around in the air. I slammed them onto the wheel and made that turn, and a couple more, going what felt like ninety miles per hour, but at the fourth one the car fell off of us (yes, it just split in two and went down without us), leaving us clinging to the side of the cliff, which, strangely, had the climbing holds from the EAC bouldering cave. We weren't in the least bit scared (I remember Mike announcing, in his Gir voice, that 'we gonna free climb!!'), and we began trying to climb back up to he road. Nora fell first, almost immediately after the car. She landed, completely unharmed, on the next road down, which seemed to be an abandoned road; it was made of dirt, and had flowers growing randomly around. I fell next, and Erik, who was using my leg as a climbing hold, went down with me. We landed about fifty feet away from Nora, who was happily booty dancing with a tree. Mike, however, didn't want to fall. He kept on climbing up, and up, even though the farther he climbed, the farther away his destination became; it rose with his movements. Finally, he misjudged a grip and came tumbling down as well, landing in the tree Nora was booty dancing with, and as soon as he hit the tree, she moved hurriedly away. Mike jumped down and immediately sat down on the ground and refused to move or talk to anyone, so Nora, Erik, and I played Ring Around The Rosy. We were having much fun, and the longer we played, the sorrier we felt that Mike wouldn't join in, so we all went over there and tried to give him a sympathetic hug, but, being Mike, he would have none of it. The closer we got, the wider we spread our arms, the farther he backed away.. but we kept coming. He kept backing away, we kept coming, he kept backing away, and suddenly he backed over the edge of the cliff. Yelling curses at us, he tumbled head over heels down and down and down, all the way down to the bottom of the valley, where he landed on a dead camel.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!