Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:17 p.m. - December 24, 2001
additional parenthetical remarks
Malls make me hate people.
Tomorrow is Christmas, and all my head can give me is that it hates people, and I know this is an incredibly redundant epiphany (not that 'incredibly redundant' isn't), but I do. I grumbled the phrase 'I hate people, I hate people' over and over again as I had no choice but to make my way through Sears to get to worthwhile shops to buy stupid presents for my stupid family, which isn't fair because I love them despite myself, although it is their fault I'm out hundreds of dollars. I did buy a gorgeous glassblown pipe at the hemp shop; it's all blue and swirly.
Today is his birthday, if my memory serves me right... nineteen years old. And Christmas is tomorrow. In the past he has always come back from whatever crazy shit he's been up to and at least written me a little holiday note. This year; nothing. New Hampshire or Colorado or somewhere in between, or even England if things have drastically changed, but really I have nothing, except this stupid irrational fear that he will never ever come back, ever.
My cousin just said something so completely appropriate that I have to transcribe it. In the other room wrapping presents, he yelled, "Hey man.. oh, you're not Chris. Look at all this capitalism laid out on this table."
Tomorrow is Christmas, speaking of reduncancy (see second paragraph). I'm not religious, and neither is my immediate family. I can't tell if the family I'm staying with is or isn't... to sum it up, there's a nativity scene set up on the mantle and all the stockings and presents and ridiculous tree that I talked about yesterday, but there's also an subtle theme (not very subtle) to poke fun at religion constantly. Or maybe it's just my dad. In any case, this is a capitalist Christmas household indeed. At this very moment I'm kind of excited. Nobody said just getting stuff isn't cool. Maybe we'll go sledding down the Cornell hills. Maybe in New York City weed will do something for me for once. Maybe I'll have tea with my uncle and maybe I won't; I fear he will be overload for my cousins (opposite sides of the ((divorced)) family, as if there wasn't enough tension there without the added parenthetical remark).
Dave Barry is funny. On that note; I feel pretty uninspired.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!