Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 a.m. - December 30, 2001
apocalypse 2002
En route from NYC to Ithaca, we stopped at a McDonalds drive-thru to grab some breakfast. While they ordered, I ran inside to use the bathroom. As I opened the door, I heard loud sobbing and saw a woman leaning over the sink, dabbing her eyes with ripped off sections of toilet paper and watching her mascara run into the sink. I stood, cautiously; wondering, should I say anything? or would it be more helpful simply to ignore her, do my business, and leave?
? I went into a stall. Listened to her sob for awhile. When I came out to wash my hands, I turned to her and said, "Can I help?" Not 'what's wrong', but 'can i help'. What is the matter with me?
"Honey," she said, collapsing back against the wall, "the world is going to end in four days and I want to do something big before it happens and I don't know what to do."
I should have asked her why she thought the world was going to to end in four days. Hadn't we gone through this apocalypse business in 2000 and 2001? I silently asked myself. Instead I said, "What kind of big thing do you want to do?"
"Who cares?" she asked me, eyes cast heavenward. "Oh, Holy Mother of God." And she wouldn't speak to me again.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!