Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:41 - December 05, 2002
and stuff...
My physics professor, Carl Wieman, and another teacherwon the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2001 and although he tries his best not to brag about it too often, somehow it just doesn't usually seem to work.
Case in point #1: First day of class. We're taking a survey. Question #3 is: 'Why did you choose this class?' a) 'because you like physics.' b) 'because it fulfills a requirement you must fulfill.' c) 'you just wanted to take a class with a Nobel Prize winner.'
Things like that. It's amusing, though, so we don't mind too much. And it's not usually his fault, like the day during the second week of classes when our classroom suddenly filled with reporters and cameramen snapping photos and asking questions; they'd gotten past security at the door to the lecture hall.
Today he gave us our last lecture of the semester. 'This is my last lecture,' he said, rushing around turning things off, 'because tomorrow I'm going out of the country. So if you need to ask me any questions before the final, you need to contact me by email or at the...'
A student a few rows down stands up and yells, 'Where are you going?'
The professor shuffles his feet. 'Oh, I'm just going to Sweden again to meet the King and Queen and stuff,' he mumbles, sounding for all the world like some kid who's bashful about his show-and-tell. The class is laughing. 'Oh yeah, and I think I might have to tape a show for the BBC at some point...' they're laughing harder and he's getting more flustered.. 'I guess I should probably prepare something for that.' The class is erupting like a volcano. He stops in the middle of fiddling with the projector and smiles. 'It'll be fun.'

Unrelated excitedblurb: MY ROOMMATE MOVED TO THE NINTH FLOOR! PERMANENTLY! YAY! (She took our phone though, so I had to steal a crappy one from next door.) The point is, now I can throw all my shit on the floor just like a used to do at home, and there isn't any annoying TV that always seems to be turned to 'the Real World', and I can play my music as loud as I want, etc. etc. I hope she keeps it a secret that she's gone so I don't have to get another roommate next semester. (end unrelated excitedblurb. actually, end entry. I have to go to sociology.)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!