Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

18:43 - Monday, Sept. 07, 2015
unsubtle parable
About 5 feet in front of the doors exiting the American side of the border crossing, there were three water fountains lined up in a row, as if to say 'Look, now you can drink me! For free! Right from the tap! It's OK, your stomach will be fine!'

Then, around a couple of bends and almost to the trolley stop, there were three more water fountains, shiny and beckoning, as before, but none of them worked. Not even a droplet of working. They may as well have been fountain installations made of steel and propped up on blocks with no piping.

It was like a very unsubtle, on-the-nose parable about what it might be like to enter the U.S. as an immigrant. All hope and rainbows at first, and then reality hits.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!