Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:18 - Friday, Jan. 30, 2004
and didn't care
I didn't get home until 2 a.m. last night because I was riding around on the back of a motorcycle. Not so much 'around', actually, as from my volunteer work to a bar on Pearl, and then back, since I'm not 21 and couldn't get in after midnight as they stopped serving food then (sidenote: not having a fake ID has never been troublesome before recently, since I don't drink, but now that I sometimes want to hang out with older friends at bars and watch THEM drink, it's become an issue. There is nowhere to go in Boulder after a certain time other than bars and 21+ clubs. This breeds an overabundance of lounging on the couch smoking pot and/or doing too much homework too early and/or trying to convince Nick to stay up past his normal bedtime of 10 p.m. What it should be breeding is brilliant new music. Hmmm...), but I must say I haven't felt an adrenaline rush like that since the last time I rode Shockwave at Great America in Chicago, which must have been two years ago. (That was a long sentence!) I want a motorcycle. Dan told me it's addictive, and that everyone says that. And actually I don't want a motorcycle so much as I just want to ride on the back of one every so often. There is no grab bar, only the ribs of the driver as fingerholds (luckily he wasn't ticklish) and the feel of leather on leather, drunken college student screams of 'WOOO! BIKERS! YEAHHHHHHHHH!'... tearstreaks moving sideways from my eyes, the 55 mph wind getting in my mouth and making it difficult to breathe. I put my mouth behind Dan's back where the wind shot by and took deep breaths every time we stopped. Every time we turned a corner or hit a bump, I thought I was going to die... and didn't care.

16:19 - Sunday, Jan. 25, 2004
sunset
oh holy shit: just when you thought there would never be an entire entry about the weather...
friday night the sun seemed to change colours and within that, change the whole landscape. it was the kind of dusky brilliant sunset where people were stopped in the middle of the street staring at the sky, not caring that they were going to get hit by cars because the view was so gorgeous. and they were either in terrible danger or completely safe, because drivers had either pulled off the road to get out of their cars and stare or they were driving with their heads craned up out of their windows. the clockwise hop bus was idling at the corner of euclid and colorado with no one in it, because the driver was standing on a planter on the sidewalk, snapping pictures.
i'd be looking one way and nick would be looking the other and we'd be yelling at each other to turn around, you're got to see this....
so i took pictures of everything. in chronological order; you can see the red come and go....

-1-
-2-
-3-
-4-
-5-
-6-

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!