Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:30 - Friday, Oct. 24, 2003
take or leave
internet connection's really fucked. i copy and paste now.

He is an anomaly, and, I think, more pretentious than any of us. Sick of living in Boulder off of your parents� money while you have to go to classes, write papers and read books that you say are irrelevant to you, and discuss philosophy with your friends in coffee shops? Why don�t you bitch about it? I don�t see him busting any status quos. He continues to be here, with me, three blocks away now, and I�m happy for it in a selfish manner but I ache for him when I see him squirming to get out. He factors into how I want to make my reality, but I�m just kind of a pawn in his; substitute for anyone. Anyone could be in my place; someone living, someone breathing. If you�re going to do it, man, do it. I can�t plan with you anymore, because I have nothing to do with your plans and you have everything to do with mine.

i'm being really hard on him, but i'm only hard on people i care about. i just gloss over the people i could take or leave.

13:35 - Monday, Oct. 20, 2003
un-fuck moral relativism
My time was well spent. Instead of going to the most pointless class in the world (Western Religions) I went to my ethics TA's office hours and argued with him about moral relativism for a half hour. The philosophy grad students' office is pretty much an echoey dungeon in the basement, and we echoed as we got louder. He dedicated a class period to disproving moral relativism a few weeks ago; I think I'm the only one who's still not convinced. When I'm not having to write a 20 page paper by Thursday, I'll elaborate; I'll elaborate a LOT. Make me keep this promise.

17:06 - Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003
fuck moral relativism, and fuck human rights.
There's just one quote that can completely sum up the clash between the generations that happens when my mother and my friends are in the same room:
Andrew: About that eighth of shrooms...
Chell: Um...
Andrew: I mean... I like rainbows. Don't you like rainbows, Chell?
Chell: Rainbows are sweet.
Jeremy: Yeah, rainbows are totally sweet.

Later we ended up on Andrew's front stoop without my mother and the conversation turned to philosophy, as it tends to do when there's more than one philosophy major in the same room (or even if there isn't, but even Chell needs company sometimes).
Went something like this:
Chell: If you look at it epistemologically...
Ted: Fuck epistemology.
Chell: I can prove God exists in a page of type.
Ted: Fuck God.
Chell: Moral relativism can't exist on the same plane as human rights....
Ted: Fuck moral relativism, and fuck human rights.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!