Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:47 - Saturday, Oct. 04, 2003
time warp
I forgot to mention this: it was a beautiful drive and the white birches had bright orange quivering perfectly circular leaves.

It's been a year, but still every time I see Andrew sleeping so fitfully with these bursts of tortured-sounding mumblings, I shudder deep within my spine.

I come in at 2:30 and Kaegan is in the living room and Andrew is asleep. So I go on the mountain drive by myself. And then I go back there at 7, and Kaegan is in the living room by himself and Andrew is asleep. It's like a fucking timewarp in that house. I kick the mattress to awaken Andrew and he mutters 'thank you' incoherently from under the blanket.

16:26 - Friday, Oct. 03, 2003
driving rant
Okay, that's it. From now on, nobody is allowed to be a bad driver in the flatlands. There is NOTHING to driving in Illinois. You have to watch out for intersections and other cars and stoplights. (I'm excluding downtown Chicago, where you also have to watch out for runaway taxicabs, bullets, those mini-windstorms, and tidal waves, but I digress.) I just went for a drive up Flagstaff Road in Boulder to God-Knows-Where, Craggy Cliffland, Colorado. Not only do you have to slam on your brakes for dashing deer and rabbits, but you have to deal with the motorcycler behind you who wants to go 75 miles per hour down a 8% grade hill and is pissed off at you for driving 35, and think about what gear to be in while you're switching grades all the time, and you've got to keep an eye out for those curves that you have to take at 10 mph unless you're suicidal, and you cannot stop paying attention for even one second in order to change the CD on the dash because all of a sudden you find yourself on a monstrous downward incline going 80 million miles per hour heading straight for a drop.

So no one is allowed to be a bad driver in Illinois anymore. It's just inexcusable. What happens if these bad Illinois drivers move to Colorado someday and try to drive up Flagstaff Road? There will be a pileup at the bottom of Gregory Canyon, surrounded by curious bears and mountain lions dragging out the salvageable remains. And that's not even a particularly tough road. I remember my dad and I weaving our way up Vail Pass in the middle of a snowstorm with trucks sliding down all around us and no visibility to speak of. There is one person in the world who I would feel safer with them behind the wheel than me: my dad. And he almost killed us driving that day.

23:56 - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003
how boulder began
This is how Boulder got started:
A group of pioneers are riding their covered wagons across the never-ending plains of Iowa and Nebraska, toiling and getting sick and starving and losing children to the wolves and it's all very predictable and boring flat rolling plains, when all of a sudden, right over the Colorado border that doesn't exist yet, this MONSTER can be seen rising out of the ground. The Rockies! The pioneers stop at the foot of them. They stare. They do mental calculations of what kind of horsepower it would take to navigate that kind of slope. They picture their wheels slipping over the cliffs. They see flashes of wildlife in the distant brush than any they've ever seen before. They look at each other, then over at the mountains, then at each other again. They shrug. 'Fuck that,' they say, and lay down in the tall mountainside grass and light a joint. Years and years later... they are still there, but slightly modernized. Modernized versions of joint-smoking pioneers are all that live in Boulder.

And here is a case in point:
::Chell is showing Lara and I his room, which we can't even walk into because there's so much shit everywhere.::
Lara: I thought you said you were going to decorate!
Chell: I did!... I decorated the floor.

18:51 - Tuesday, Sept. 30, 2003
uh...
So I've lost my Ethics folder with my 5 page long homework in it, which isn't cool, but when I looked behind my desk to see if it had fallen back there, I found the following items:

1. A Hard Rock Cafe Maui beer glass broken at the top with jagged edges of glass poking out everywhere.

2. A chocolate rose wrapped in red tinfoil, complete with plastic green stem and leaves.

....... I have never seen either of these things before in my life.

23:40 - Monday, Sept. 29, 2003
celery
You know what we figured out? The most painless way of committing suicide is by eating celery.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!