Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:16 - April 04, 2003
i have seen plains
I have never looked out Andrew's window and seen plains before yesterday when I was sitting too low to see the edge of the parking lot. That east facing window and one high glance and I mind-transport to Iowa and shiver. I don't want to be there. Don't want to be anywhere near the Midwest. I just want to stay right here, in this room, with these people, forever.

It is rare, lately, that I feel like this. The more I notice them lamenting a wasted Saturday night if no-one has gone on a liquor run, the more I want to scream. I'm not knocking vices, or knocking alcohol in particular, even, and I must admit watching Aaron stagger around with his grin stretching over the edges of his cheeks and watching Andrew hug everyone and say they're all his best friends, along with other things, is entertaining, but the only time I start having a problem is when once the alcohol option is x'd out, everyone just sighs and grumbles and finds other places to go, like home, or plays videogames and watches comedy central all night. I can't stand that. In Evanston we never did that. We were bored because we were bored, sometimes, but not because we couldn't find any alcohol to make us forget that we were bored.

Putting it that way to them would be easy enough, and they might even listen and agree, but in the next minute it would be, 'fuck it, we're getting beer.'

However, at this point in time, as referenced before, I don't mind, and I'm not thinking about.

15:19 - April 02, 2003
fading scene
I can't...
It's a beautiful warm outside.
A close brush with honesty, last night. Forgetting for a second who he is; I am drinking an apple and eating lemonade. And telling him my perceived flaws without a flinch. Oh, the paradox; his need to know what makes people tick and what makes people smile, and his want to have this ten mile radius of space. Nobody will admit this simple fact that they only don't want to be touched by the people they don't want to be touched by.

Simply: I can't breathe and the room is spinning. You have nothing to do with this fading scene.

16:44 - April 01, 2003
will be true
I was planning on filling this entry with pictures from England, but my computer won't read the new 500-picture disc. So as it turns out, I got way more space on my disc to fill with pictures, but they're stuck on it forever. Hmph.

It's not enough to just say this, but it's shorthand. I have no words in my head fit for the screen, or fit for speech, even. I have no words in my head, period. That isn't to say that I'm particularly depressed or sad or bored, as I'm not, really, if just because I've got insane amounts of homework (mostly music homework). I haven't really seen very many people yet, either. There's a lot to do but it's mostly responsible, adult-related things like cleaning and finding summer storage and calling for that summer job. I'm not in the mood.

It's weird, in a group setting, in a group setting with a group I would never normally find myself in, talking in more intimate terms than I would with any of my friends here. It's practically forced, but it doesn't feel that way. Sometimes I have to go out into the hallway and breathe and breathe and breathe and repeat: my throat is not closing up on itself. Anything could happen and it would be worse than this. And it will be true.

09:36 - March 30, 2003
overview
In the small town of Cerne Abbas, north of Weymouth, old women surrounded our car, put their arms over the open window, and advised us as to the sights in conspiratory tones: the ancient Giant carved into the hillside ('he hasn't got any clothes on, you know'), Cerne Abbey ('the ruins? oh, you mean the humps. yes, not much to see there. humps of grass, it is.') We had just stopped to ask directions and they started flocking. I have never been in a town where you can't fit a small sedan down the road without falling into the gutter and where old, old men farm outside their house and at the corner there is a cottage in a pond. I mean IN a pond in that the water level was halfway up the first floor. It must have been flooding, but in the living room an old toothless man happily rocked in his rocking chair, oblivious. In another house an ancient woman surrounded by ancient artifacts typed arthriticly on a laptop computer.

I liked the countryside but I didn't like London. In Wales it's almost worth it just to see the signs; in two languages, one language severely lacking in vowels and overflowing with consonants. (I took a picture of a word that stretched at least ten feet across an awning, in tiny type.) We drove straight into Cardiff on the main road and it looked exactly like America (as I said to my dad, struggling to drive on the left side of the road) except that that sign pointing to the superstore said 'Archfarchnad', (and the 'Services' sign was something like 'Gwasanaetheiu'). He nearly drove off the road in laughter. Something about that word hit him squarely between the eyes.

Also in Wales, they have this sign, a yellow road sign, that's much like the 'school crossing' one here, except it depicts obviously old people, with bent backs and canes, crossing the street. Old people crossing. Wonderful. And the bus (called the 'Bws Caerdydd') has a neon sign on the back that reads, 'Please Let Us Out!' and a little smiley face.

At times, mostly in Windsor, the extravagance sickened me. I was much better off looking at the (preferably untouched) ruins of old castles and abbeys in the smaller towns; Tintern and Llandaff, Wales; Old Sarum, the Cerne Abbey (which, as it turned out, was more than a few humps of grass). Even Stonehenge if you cut out the guard ropes. But Windsor Castle killed me. Every room, each bigger, in square feet, than my entire house, filled with valuable paintings, everything gilded in gold, the plush chairs, the four poster beds, the famous dollhouse, the turrets and the gardens.... well.. the Queen only lives there less than a quarter of the year, and the rest of the time it just sits there, impeccably cleaned every day, endless tourist groups sliding through it, oohing and aahing. The people without homes who could be living there. The money that is spent polishing the un-slept-in four poster beds and hiring guards, that money that could feed entire countries.

We saw countless homeless in the Underground stations in London, more by far than even New York, and nobody there gives them anything. One woman with long dirty red hair was curled in a corner at the turn in the stairs down to the Piccadilly Line, in the theatre district. This stampede of people, all coming from Les Miserables, swept past her without a glance, and if they acknowledged her at all, it was with a shake of the head. When the last person went by, she started to cry, covering her face with a tissue. Her bucket had twopence in it, one coin. In a better world I would have stopped and given her a clean tissue and asked her what I could do to help her, something that would last, something that would matter. But I was running after my dad, who had the keys to the hotel and who has no patience for sympathy. We had been fighting, and he said nothing, just pulled me onto the train. As we walked up to our hotel a half an hour later, he said, suddenly, 'You can knock Communism all day long, but they feed their people and they medicate their people. In Beijing I saw no one begging, no one.'

Walking through St. James park the geese were all gray and regal and the creekside cafe was filled with terrible hotdogs and disgusting things like kidney pies. To one side the creek was filled with birds (Diana's Memorial Walkway) and cherry trees, and to the other construction trucks roared.

21:20 - March 28, 2003
19
I celebrated my birthday today six times on the plane on the way here, one for each time zone.

more later, of course.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!