Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:54 - March 15, 2003
in college for six years
One week 'til London. Six days until Chicago. I've never been so happy to skip Evanston completely. I never knew how much I didn't like visiting there (my home for eighteen years!) until I visited there. I did love seeing all of my friends, but the cold ripped through me, not to mention the old anxiety, just from staying at my mother's, and everyone had changed at least a little, enough for me to notice and be apprehensive about it. It breaks my pattern and throws me off, being home. This isn't to say I don't enjoy change. I do. I look for change everywhere.... that's renewing. Home is pattern breaking. I can't explain any further.

We went to a party Thursday night (terrible idea for me and my 8:00 class) and ended up talking to a girl who told us that our creative writing teacher, at the last grad student reading, had gotten semi-trashed before his turn (not on the free beer available to everyone, but on a bottle of wine in a paper bag) and then proceeded to stand at the lectern, starting to read things and then stopping, saying they weren't good, crumpling them up, and tossing them over his shoulder. Then he would start another and this whole process would repeat. Finally he just said he was done and sat down and continued drinking..... poor Louie. It's so accurate though. Sounds exactly like him.

I must get into the music school soon or else I'll be in college for six years.

20:00 - March 13, 2003
stupidity revisited
It was hotter than ever today and I wore my favorite floaty embroidered dress and walked home through Kittredge (again), stopping to sketch the mountains, which I turned out not to be able to see without blinding myself, since the sun was setting behind them. So I just read the Onion after a few pointless pencil swipes and got up to walk the rest of the way home. On the grass in front of a balcony as I was walking by, two girls lay facedown, both in string bikinis with tanning oil tipped over beside them. I was a few feet away from them when I heard one say to the other, 'God, I hate the sun. I wish I didn't have to tan so I didn't have to be out in it. It's so fucking hot out here.'
....which caused me to want to step on her head. Didn't anybody ever tell her tanning isn't a required activity for sustenance of life?

Also, in Geography:
student (in response to some question): It was caused by female rights.
professor: which female rights are you talking about?
student (flustered): um, you know, those things that, um, give rights to females.

11:14 - March 13, 2003
balance (again)
Oftentimes, there is so much to take in and so much to see that I can�t remember ever having been bored and can�t imagine ever being bored. Oftentimes, math gets me. The ratios and the functions, geometry, perfect beyond perfect triangles and circles and connecting lines, shadows, equations, matrices. Blank screen suddenly filled and crisscrossed with hundreds upon thousands of perfectly intersecting beams of light, emerging patterns everywhere, like the tiles on a bathroom floor, their diagonals and triangles hidden within diagonals and triangles hidden within triangles within triangles. Upon a rectangular, ridiculous, now, white sheet of theatre screen.

It is very light upon very dark and my mouth is completely dry. The aftertaste of peach lemonade sits on my tongue for hours, and saliva wells up in my throat intermittently but never makes it past the back of the tongue. I have not had a real panic attack in over a year but I�ve had two this week. In voice, unable to breathe suddenly. And today�s, stretched out over hours and hours of shakiness. It starts in the cafeteria, eating catfish and cucumbers and pasta; something above my left eyebrow pops and readjusts, and suddenly the whole room is completely out of whack; tilted; spinning. My stomach makes its first protest quietly, amid the silence in my head. March 12. It is starting again, goddamnit. again. I escape home and try and try and try to write music, black notes on white page, only octaves emerge, octave after octave after octave of G major, A minor, G major. I have to do this for school, I have to do this so I get in next semester, I have to do this because if I cannot concentrate on something wonderful right now I�ll break into a million pieces. I can�t write anything. My head expands, my stomach contracts. I should stay home and read, except staying home and doing anything is beyond my will; I go to Andrew�s and I put my things down and find a corner chair and blankly watch what they�re watching; a documentary on pyramids. And then we smoke a joint and go see a film on crop circles in Europe.

I�m writing this for my own records. Fear my melodrama. Fear it! But it�s all true. Stepping down to the bus stop time moves too fast for my head to grasp it. My throat shakes. I want more than anything to grab Andrew�s coat and stop his stumbling toward the bus and tell him I have to go back to my room and most of all have him understand me. The brown back seats of the bus rise in my view. He doesn�t stop, because I say nothing at all. I slide into a seat next to him. I tell him I�m freaking out, and I say it (why?) jokingly. Andrew can see past jokingly, he knows I�m serious about it, but he doesn�t know how far past it I am. These streetlights across my face and the closed windows and the tiny tiny tiny amount of leg room, the anticipation of the tiny theater and the rows of seats with people on each side, the darkness, the heat, the flickering exit lamps, never enough to see by. It has gotten to the point where anxiety is its own entity. Anxiety about being anxious about being anxious about....

I never can remember feeling sicker than at whatever present moment I�m in. It�s like the memory closes in and all you can think of is right now, my throat, my stomach, my hands, my coat, my face. My fucking fucked up head. Andrew is asleep, Jeremy is laughing. I get swept up in it, these crop circles, the geometry of it all, the perfection. I don�t think about aliens, but I think a lot about it not mattering how it happened, if we just appreciated what appears and try to make our own appearances once and again. I keep getting swirled up in it myself and marvelling at things I can never remember three seconds later in order to keep marvelling, and then snapping abruptly out of it and seeing Andrew contort and twist painfully in his sleep. I always get tears in my eyes whenever I see him sleep. He writhes like he�s being torn apart. I can�t watch it. I know he�s fine. But I forget things in the moment, like how many contradictions exist for each other contradiction; and my mindset is very much a present one, so at this moment everything is how it is; the shadows of the unknown cast their down on fields and leave these perfect patterns; my throat is hot and closing quickly, my hands twitch, he shifts and struggles in his sleep, my head pounds, and I forget to breathe. It�s all that moment, it�s all I know.

On the bus home I begin to think about it being worth it. Worth it, I mean, for the moments after, when it all snaps back to clarity and there�s a bigger sense of relief, and I guess, safety, than anything else you can imagine. I am on this bus going home to my warm bed and my chocolate cherry ice cream and it is a beautiful cold clear night and I have survived this; I am fine. That thought is everything. Everything. I didn�t leave the theatre or sit crying in the hall, I didn�t miss anything, I didn�t whine to Andrew or Jeremy; I just closed my eyes and kept sitting there, kept forcing stillness, forcing myself to wait. I wait for hours. And the hold finally breaks.

I could not go back to a flatline after this, never. As soon as I got home, about an hour ago now, I took the emergency Paxil I had hidden and threw it in the dumpster, right into the center of a bag of coffee grounds. And then I went to the Haven, giddy. �Do you have any rice and bean burritos?� I asked.
�We do,� she replied.
�Well, can I have a lot of them? You never have bean and rice burritos,� I babbled, �so I�d like to actually have a lot of them if that�s possible, please.�
�How many would you like?�
�Well, um, I guess, nineteen. could I have nineteen?�
She paused, but then nodded.
I smiled. �And three peach lemonades and three bags of Chee-tos and three Cherry Garcia bars also, and a rice krispie treat.�

Everything will be fine. Everything will be fine because it all balances out in the end. For everything I suffer I will feel that much more amazing afterwards.

00:20 - March 11, 2003
wonderful
oh, oh. please don't look at me like that. i can't think when you do.

this piano sits and collects dust, the music on the stand curled up at the edges into little whorls, fingerprint whorls like my pinky. creativity has taken flight, mad flight, frantic flight, away from this godforsaken place where there is sunlight and there is warmth and instead of sitting and skating across the ivories (tickling them, one might say) i go outside and hike, hike for the purpose of not thinking. this is not good for creative output, music or otherwise, writing included (sorry excuse for why this journal has been shit for the last few.. few somethings..) lately i have been thinking too much; therefore i try not to. it's warm, and it's sunny, and i have midterms, but so what? hiking is way way more important.

besides, it doesn't work. (trying to be not thinking.) even over at andrew's in my customary haze, i want to throw myself into someone's arms or at least curl up into a corner on that cigarette-gutted couch and wail about my 'headspace' (new word); 'i'm just not in a good headspace right now.' i think that was a taylor phrase, as is customary of beautifully incoherent yet perfect phrases that pop up unbidden into my head now and again. but.. headspace. it's right. the space in my head does not feel good. it feels sick, and acidic, and muddled.

[flashback: 'I want to know why I'm so terrified of throwing up. I want to know why, when I'm feeling sick, thinking about sex makes it worse but thinking about food doesn't. I want to know why everything in the entire world has the capacity to make me feel nauseous... movie theaters, tv screens, computer screens, the i-max theater, heights, small spaces, large spaces, cramped spaces, quiet spaces, boats, trains, certain boys, certain smells. etc.etc.etc whine whine complain complain....'}

datewise, this is perfect: march 11, 2002. one year ago today. look at my archives; i shit you not. i didn't even mean to do that, but it's a perfect portrayal of this time of year. different location, different life. same problems. this gets me thinking about patterns, and the swing of things, and eventually i can't think anymore.

i thought the most wonderful thing ever was andrew and chris jumping on the abandoned bus in the lot and then deciding they wanted to live in a bus and then making plans to buy a bus and live in it, completely serious and completely stoked, until reality set in. but before reality set in....
wonderful.

15:34 - March 10, 2003
missing it
it's one of those days where you feel guilty about being inside for ten seconds because it means you're missing it...

16:29 - March 09, 2003
england
I wish I could find that ridiculously, impressively tall Asian woman wearing wedge heels that I saw waiting in line for the bathroom in New York a few, probably three or four, years ago, and tell her she's been my only inspiration to be all right with my own height for the last three or four years. She was probably 6'4", and wearing these wedge heels that made her even taller, leaning against a fence, talking to her (at least eight inches shorter) boyfriend and laughing loudly. I started walking much straighter after that; she was beautiful.

In other news, two weeks from now I'll be speeding away from London Heathrow Airport, out into the southern English countryside, no plans, no destination, no anything.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!