Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

15:50 - February 08, 2003
new roommate?
Plan For New Roommate's Arrival:
1. Every so often, someone must stand up and announce that they're going to the Bat Cave. That person should then walk to a corner, sit down, put their fingers on their temples, and be silent for at least 15 minutes, preferably more. If the new roommate questions what's going on, everyone must look at him, baffled, and someone must say, 'he's IN the BAT cave' and refuse to say any more on the subject.

2. Everyone must speak in a secret language whenever anything of interest or importance happens. Pretend that the roommate can understand the language and abruptly stop speaking it whenever he enters the room or get too close. Look surreptitious and mutter a mix of English and the secret language under your breath. If the roommate attempts to speak the secret language, everyone must get up and walk away sans explanation.

3. Pick a wall poster to worship every night at 8:30 p.m. Have someone stand on a chair and call everyone in the apartment to worship at this time. Make sure the ceremony is convoluted and pretty much incomprehensible while still conveying the general idea that this poster is our God.

4. Everyone must smoke not out of our normal glass pipes but out of Aaron's metal one that looks like a crack pipe. Say it's a crack pipe and act like people on crack when smoking out of it.

5. When roommate asks where his bed is, point to the ceiling. That's a pretty accurate answer, anyway... his bed is in pieces holding up a bedroom fort.

6. Bet him a hundred dollars you can suffocate by rolling yourself in a rug. Act very serious. When he rolls himself up in the rug to prove you wrong, tape the ends shut, put him in a box, and mail him to another country.

7. Refuse to refer to him by his name. Only refer to him by the name of the first roommate who never moved in.

8. Say that everyone else in the apartment earned their right to smoke cigarettes by jumping out the window, landing on the third floor balcony, rappeling around the building twice, and climbing up the water pipes back to the eleventh floor. Because if someone does that and climbs in your window going 'man... can I get a cigarette?' you can't say no to him, can you?

9. Pretend that the resin in the glass pipes is heroin. Go to the bathroom and come out all glassy eyed and then fall on the floor and stay there for hours.

10. Every once in awhile, turn to someone else and say, 'remember that time I did acid and destroyed everything in my entire house and thought my roommates were giant cows and tried to milk them?' Change the story a bit every time, but the listener of the story always has to say that yes, he does remember that very well.

11. Threaten the roommate with a Duck Hunt gun. If he laughs, act very angry and shoot the person next to you. That person should fall down writhing in false agony.

12. If the roommate complains to the R.A. about this strange behaviour, claim he's been sleeping for several days and must have been dreaming. Then feed him something that will make him sleep for several days.

---

(courtesy of the saturday night fort party group)

18:44 - February 06, 2003
more doubt
When I called my dad today I tried to talk to him about the way I felt about college (more expensive than it's worth, a slight waste of time considering everything else in the world I could be doing) and he just gave me the parent lecture. You know the one I mean. "You won't get anywhere near as far in life without a college education, Hannah. This is the next logical step in your life, Hannah." I hate that. I see the other side of it too, but when it's put like that it makes me not want to see it at all. I kept thinking, '$100,000. $100,000. The places I could be seeing, the people I could be meeting. The entire life I could live out in a less developed country where food and shelter are the only necessity with this money. What I could be if I weren't dependent on this fund. What I could be if I weren't dependent on any fund.'

I know that in the world I and everyone I know are living in, a college education is a necessity. I know that to get a job and to climb to the top of whatever ladder you choose, you need to have one. I just don't know if I want to climb to the top of any ladders. There is no satisfaction at the top, there's no fulfillment. I want the freedom to get up if I get bored and go somewhere where it'll be more interesting. I don't want to stay in one place longer than I want. That's as simply as I can put it.

When I'm in a more prosaic mood maybe I'll clarify, but right now I have to clean my room so we can all build a fort in it on Saturday.

22:06 - February 04, 2003
angst that hasn't happened yet
Eleven days until I'm in Los Angeles, eating Hop Li and making my tummy very happy. I can't even think about it and look at the dorm food at the same time. It was Taco Night. Yeeeeechhh. The line stretched out the door and down the stairs; Taco Night is a rare and good occurrence, apparently. Tough frat boys were yelling happily. I sat on the couch instead of standing in line, waited for the excitement to disperse. I cannot handle being immersed in that kind of excitement. The rice and beans can only be a letdown, then... right?

Grmph, rice and beans.

One of my professors has a grading system such that if you get less than an 80% on the homework, you get a zero for the assignment. I thought about how much I didn't want to be in college all day today, walking towards Humanities in the snow especially. I thought about it during the Econ lecture about how money really isn't anything, and isn't backed by anything, and is just a human concept by now since the gold that backed it ran out completely in... '71? I didn't take notes. I walked back toward the bus stop and thought about other things I could be doing with a hundred thousand dollars, even if they're not really real. Like travel for years and years and years. I sat on the bus and stared out the window and pretended I was driving among ruins somewhere. It made me very uneasy and very restless. Education is important, no doubt. But it may not be limited to what everyone sees it as.

I don't have the drive to do anything about it though. I have the ideas, and the means, and I'm young enough and I'm not tied down. But I won't do anything. I never do. I'll stay in college and get my degree and get a job, probably right here in Boulder. It's depressing to think about.

23:59 - February 03, 2003
like a badge
Today everyone is happy. And it's very nearly making me so as well, even though there's millions of reasons not to be. But there are millions of reasons to be, as well, so why am I complaining? Coming home from volunteering, it's 23:30 and his door is open, so I wave my fingers with their ink-stained tips from writing through the crack where the light spills out and smile. He laughs and says, 'I'm so happy right now,' and tells me why. He's always saying things like this, but for some reason tonight it feels like he really means it. It's in the way he's NOT. In the way he's not bouncing up and down restlessly, and not pacing the room giving reasons and validations and justifications for this feeling of being happy, and not seeming like he's desperate to hold onto it for fear of it going away in a split second when he's not watching. He's just sitting, calm (he's never calm), glowing, radiant, quiet. I squeeze his shoulder and leave him alone, and when I get back to my own room I realize his smile was contagious, and I'm wearing it like a badge.

16:15 - February 02, 2003
suddenly snowing
What the fuck; it's snowing. Yesterday... well, today, actually, at about 2 AM, we all tromped in our sandals and T-shirts through the dry crackly brown grass and through the warm creek to the stoner tree and proceeded to be stoners, and we were warm, because it was 70 degrees. Earlier yesterday Nick, Lara, Camille and I hiked it up to Chatauqua and played frisbee in the wind, barefoot. It wasn't that sunny, but it felt like summer, except for the pervasive wind blowing from the north. I suppose sometime between 4 and 11 this morning the wind finally used its last breath to push the storm clouds over the Rockies and into Boulder, where they unleashed their wrath and freezingness. Damn it.

If we find another car we're going swing dancing in Denver tonight.

I was wondering last night whether it's possible to lose your motivation to think things through. I've always pounded things to death and suddenly I'm not anymore, hence the drastic reduction of good writings in this diary, but also hence my mental state being a whole lot cleaner. So I don't know if I want it back. I probably do, though.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!